New SESAR JU board chairman named

Matthias Ruete, Director General of the European Commission Mobility and Transport Directorate-General, has been appointed chairman of the SESAR Joint Undertaking (SJU) Administrative Board.
The SJU is the public-private partnership formed in 2007 to manage the Development phase of the Single European Sky ATM Research (SESAR) programme. Eurocontrol and the European Commission are founding members.
Ruete succeeds Daniel Calleja Crespo, who had chaired the SESAR JU governing body since its establishment in 2007.
Bo Redeborn, principal director ATM at Eurocontrol, remains deputy chairman of the board.
Matthew Baldwin, recently appointed director of the EC’s Air Transport Directorate, has been designated as Ruete’s alternate.
“Daniel Calleja has been an outstanding chairman of the SESAR JU’s Administrative Board. As much as we regret to see him leave, we’re also looking forward to working closely together with Mr Ruete in the future. I am fully confident that our cooperation will be as successful in this next, very decisive phase of the SESAR work program,” stated Patrick Ky, SESAR JU executive director.