Challan to receive ATCA accolade

The US Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) has selected Peter Challan, vice president of industry relations at Harris Corporation, as its 2012 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award winner.

Challan has received the FAA Distinguished Service Award and served in the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) for more than 34 years. He will be honored at the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Banquet the evening of October 3, 2012.

“Harris is extremely proud of Peter’s contributions to the FAA and the aerospace industry,” said Bill Brown, President and CEO of Harris Corporation. “Through Peter’s leadership Harris has forged a strong partnership with the FAA to provide secure and reliable communications critical to the air traffic control network of today, as well as establishing a platform for the next generation network of tomorrow.”

Challan’s career in the FAA ranged from travelling the Eastern Region of the US in 1970 as a field engineer, to serving as Senior VP for the Air Traffic Organization. Along the way, his positions included Headquarters’ programme manager for Denver Airport; programme manager for Terminal ATC Automation; Director of the Automation Service; Deputy Associate Administrator for the Air Traffic Service; and more. After retiring from the FAA in 2005, Peter joined Harris as VP of Washington Programs for Government Communications Systems and was later promoted to his current position.

“Peter has built a legacy in aviation through strong decision-making and thorough knowledge of how industry and government can successfully work together,” said Peter F. Dumont, ATCA President and CEO. “ATCA has greatly benefited from his leadership throughout the years – most recently as Chair of the ATCA Board of Directors.”

The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Banquet serves as the capstone to the ATCA 57th Annual Conference & Exposition. It is ATCA’s highest honor and recognises the outstanding, long-term achievement of an individual in aviation. The award is named after Glen A. Gilbert (1913 – 1982), writer of the first air traffic control manual. Past winners include former FAA Administrator The Hon. Jane Garvey, Captain Elrey B. Jeppesen, and Pilot A. Scott Crossfield. The trophy is displayed at the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum in Washington, D.C. A full list of past recipients is listed here.

Posted in Events, News, People

Comments are closed.