WATM: EC awards first Single Sky awards

World ATM Congress, Madrid The European Commission has celebrated the five winners of the first edition of the Single European Sky (SES) Awards in Madrid.
The SES Awards aim at rewarding projects that have contributed the most to the achievement of the Union’s SES. The winners were selected among 22 applicants, which covered the whole spectrum of aviation actors, for a total of 65 private and public entities from 27 different countries. Air Traffic Management magazine editor Aimée Turner was selected as an external judge on the Technical Jury which helped determine the final selection of award winners.

Sign up for the free Air Traffic Management app

The SES awards provide the right recognition and visibility to projects that delivered concrete results on the SES goals in terms of performance, better and more efficient rules, and innovative solutions. It is a prize that recognises the concerted efforts of many organisations over many years, towards a common European goal. The completion of the SES is one of the priorities highlighted by the new Aviation Strategy for Europe, and will contribute to several Commission priorities: jobs and growth, internal market, energy union, and global competitiveness. The award ceremony took place at the annual World ATM Congress, in Madrid.
Here are the five winners and a full description of their projects:

Beside the five winning projects, the jury, composed by experts within and outside the European Commission, has given the following special mentions:

  • Formation of A4 Consortium of Airlines, presented by International Airlines Group, Lufthansa Group, Air France-KLM, EasyJet, for playing an essential role in enhancing airspace users’ participation in the SESAR project.